Road Trip.

I’m leaving in a few hours to go up north (Flagstaff/Payson) for a relaxing week away with Jess before Cruz is born. The only thing on the schedule for the next few days is 2 games of golf with my good friend Justin Dodson. Other than that, there’s no itinerary and that’s how we plan to keep it!

Reading, walking, sitting on a porch, taking in God’s grandness, and enjoying 75 degree weather.

The other part of the trip that I’m excited about is driving up to Payson tonight to drop off our dog Audio at my grandparents house. It’s just going to be me, Audio, and the radio with the windows down (Jess is coming up tomorrow…I’m not forgetting her).

There’s just something about the open road with some sweet tunes and the fresh breeze that makes me smile.

Some people can’t handle being alone on a road trip, but I relish it. Especially when you get to sing at the top of your lungs, and you’re alone with your ideas, and there’s a beautiful landscape streaming past your car.

It’s one of my favorite things.

So my question is, what do you play at full volume when you’re hitting the pavement by yourself? Right now, I have an eclectic mix of Explosions In The Sky, Sigur Ros, Coldplay, Charlie Hall’s new album “The Bright Sadness”, and some other various worship stuff.

What’s your favorite road trip music?

6 Comments

  1. word! 😛

  2. Dear J bro, That comment of me saying: word! 😛 , was a test to see if i would be allowed to post a comment. You see, two days ago i typed up an informative persuassive document filled with strength, fruit, and approval. Doesnt that make you just want to bear arms? anyways heres the real comment and sorry about the: word! 😛

    Couldnt agree more. I have experienced many rock, FUNK rock, funk ROCK, jazz, chirstian contemporary R&B, and soul on the open road by my lonesome. I have to say, you have me beat by bringing your dog. Nice work.

    HEres a list of some solid gold oldies for the open road:

    1. Sigur ros-All albums. Shuffle off. Full experience.
    2. The album leaf- The shuffle of glitches, raunchy programmed bass drum hits, slightly overdriven rhodes, and a few synths will safely put you to sleep at the wheel.
    3. Radical face- goofy acoustic jams that will question the genre of music
    4. Thrice- the alchemy index in order of the volumes.
    5. Three owls- ….tooo funny
    6. Colour revolt- filthy distorted guitars with clean texures with a scream like no other will make you want to join a heavy indie rock band, play at a horrible venue, and have very little fans.
    7. Sleeping at last- soprano voice of a three piece rock trio that will pump you up

    Test drive those bands next time you and cruz cruise on over to cruisin USA.

    -jon

  3. J-Will.. hey bro, glad I found your blog (through Brian’s). I lisnted to all kinds of stuff on road trips. For some reason I usually have a huge mix of electronic music goin on.

  4. I’m going to add you to my blog roll. Gotta have some link love.

  5. Link Lovin Johnny boy! Good to hear from you man!

    Don’t drive too fast with your electronic music…

  6. Jimmy Eat World – Chase this light

    Rocky Votolato – Makers

    Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever ago

    Sigur Ros

    Thrice – Air and Earth

    Top five as of this summers road trips – nice variety for different times of the day – for different scenery. I love road trips.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

