Gossip In The Grain.

From one friend to another, please take my exuberant advice and go to your nearest Best Buy/iTunes store/Target/Wal-Mart/garage sale/whatever and place in your possession a copy of Ray Lamontagnes newest album “Gossip In The Grain”. (I was trying, but for some reason I can’t link to the iTunes store here (if any of you would like to show me how I’d be much obliged)).

I can’t stop listening to this CD. And I’m not going to try and explain how good it is or what tunes are my favorites or whatever…heck…this isn’t a Rolling Stones record review or anything. I just want to share this with you.

Anyways, you absolutely need to at least listen to this record. Now I’m not one to impose my musical tastebuds onto others, but I really want you to at least let it hit your pallete before you discard my words.

Every once in a while, there comes an album that is so full of passion and vigor and love and sorrow and truth and life and beauty that it beckons me into a time of real reflection and worship and thankfulness. Albums like Sigur Ros’s “Med Sud | Eyrum Vid Spilum Endalaust”, Coldplay’s “Parachutes”, Explosion In The Sky’s “The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place”, and now Ray’s new piece of his heart.

Now these albums would never be placed in the same grab bag of other albums that we so often refer to as “worship music”. And don’t get me wrong at all or take me for some heretic or something…I’m not saying that there is anything super spiritual about these works. They don’t have lyrics that paint a picture of God’s great redemption of the lost. They don’t portray the incredible freedom that is poured upon us through Jesus. They aren’t uniting the Church together.

But I sometimes find myself heart-deep in awe of who HE is when some of these songs reverberate through my bones. Often it is the mere simplicity and honesty of the music. And other times it is the overwhelming grandness of the sounds clashing together to create a melody that sends me into the clouds. In any case, I feel closer and my heart beats heavier for my great Father around these albums.

And as a worshipper and a worship leader, I desperately want and need beautiful things that point my heart towards Jesus.

So take a listen and tell me if you like.

1 Comment

  1. Jay Dub,

    Great post! I couldn’t agree with you more… I love the sheer rawness and honest emotion found on this album. The feelings are palpable and real. I also love Explosions and Sigur Ros. Another album that moved me like this one was David Gray’s “Life in Slow Motion” and incredibly moving album to me. One other album that I am really loving right now and can’t get enough of is Kings of Leon “Only by the Night” you should give that one a listen if you haven’t already.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

